TN NOTARY PUBLIC APPLICATION
COUNTY OF LAWRENCE

This application must be signed under oath in the presence of a notary public and submitted to the County Clerk at least five (5) days prior to the
meeting of the county legislative body at which it is to be considered.Once elected, you must then be commissioned by the Governor. If elected, you
will be required to post a bond in the amount of $10,000.00. The bond must be filed in the office of the County Clerk, who will accept the required
fees and administer the oath of office. You are not authorized to act as a notary public until you have received your commission from the Governor,
filed your bond, and taken the oath of office. If you move your residence or your principal place of business out of this county, you are required by
law to notify the County Clerk of the change of address.

ANSWER EVERY QUESTION. PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE.

Date of application: , 2021
Full Name Date of birth:
First Middle Last

Name as it will appear on your notary commission:
Residence Address: , TN Phone No:

Street Address City zip
Name of Employer: Occupation:
Business Address: ,TN Phone No: Ext#:

Street Address City zip
Email Address: Current Notary Comm Exp Date:

BONDING INFORMATION

Name of Insurance Company:
OR Name of 2 Personal Sureties: 1) , 2)

For RENEWAL applications, give the expiration date of your current commission:

PLEASE ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS YES OR NO:

1. Have you ever been convicted of offering or giving a bribe, larceny or any other offense
declared infamous by law?

2. If the answer to question 1 was YES, has your citizenship been restored?

3. Is there an unpaid judgment against you for money received in an official capacity and due to
the United States, to Tennessee or any Tennessee county or are you a defaulter to the treasury?

4. Are you a soldier, seaman, marine or airman in the regular Army, Navy or Air Force of the
United States, a member of the United States Congress, or a person holding any office of profit or trust
under any foreign power, other state of the United States?

5. Have you ever been removed from office as a notary public for official misconduct?

6. Have you ever had a notarial commission revoked or suspended by this or any other state?

7. Have you ever been found by a court of this state or any other state to have engaged in the
unauthorized practice of law?

8. Is there any other reason that you are legally disqualified from holding the office of a notary
public?

I do swear or affirm under penalties or perjury that the statements above are true and correct.

Signature of Applicant

STATE OF TENNESSEE
COUNTY OF LAWRENCE

Personally appeared before me, , with whom | am personally acquainted and who
acknowledged that he/she executed the within instrument for the purposes therein contained.

Witness my hand, at office this day of ,2021.

Notary Public
My Commission expires:

| Receipt# Date Pd: Amount Pd: Type of Bond: Ins___ /2 Pers Sureties___




Requirements for applying to be a notary public:

1.

Applicant must fill out application and return this application to the County
Clerk’s office.

Applicant will then be asked to sign the notary bond book. There is a $10,000 notary
bond required. This bond can either be made by an insurance company or two (2)
Lawrence County property owners (no lien on property). If using property owners
as sureties the bond will need to be made immediately after applicant signs the notary
bond book. If applicant is using an insurance bond we will need the name of the
bonding company at the time of application. The actual insurance bond will be
required before the applicant can have the new commission certificate and seal (if
applicable). It is the applicants responsibility to contact the insurance company
or the two (2) property owners signing as sureties. The two (2) personal
sureties will have to sign before the application can be presented to the County
Commission for approval.

When application is returned to the County Clerk’s office, the fees will have to be
paid at that time. This amount will depend on whether the application is for a
renewal or a new notary public. Total cost for notary seal and commission is
$35.45. Total cost for a commission only is $13.50. If you still have a crimping seal
or a black or yellow ink seal you will need to order a new seal. If you have a seal
that says “notary at large” you will need to order a new seal. They now have to
read “State of Tennessee Notary Public” effective July 1, 2004.

Beginning October 1, 2014, notaries public are required to maintain *'a record of
each of the notaries public’s acts, attestations, protections, and other instruments of
publication™ regardless of whether the notary public receives a fee or compensation
for his or her services. So long as the information kept in the notary public's record
Is available for public inspection and other conditions are met, such information
may be maintained in any appropriate electronic medium.



