TN NOTARY PUBLIC APPLICATION COUNTY OF LAWRENCE

This application must be signed under oath in the presence of a notary public and submitted to the County Clerk at least five (5) days prior to the meeting of the county legislative body at which it is to be considered. Once elected, you must then be commissioned by the Governor. If elected, you will be required to post a bond in the amount of \$10,000.00. The bond must be filed in the office of the County Clerk, who will accept the required fees and administer the oath of office. You are not authorized to act as a notary public until you have received your commission from the Governor, filed your bond, and taken the oath of office. If you move your residence or your principal place of business out of this county, you are required by law to notify the County Clerk of the change of address.

ANSWER EVERY QUESTION. PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE.

	Date of application:	, 2	02	
Full Name	Middle		Date of birt	h:
Name as it will appear on y	your notary commission:			
Residence Address:	dress Ci	,TN	Phone	No:
Name of Employer:	dress Ci	ity Occupati	zip On:	
Business Address:	lress City	,TN	Phone No:	Ext#:
	riess City			Date:
	BONDING INF	ORMATION		
Name of Insurance Com	pany:			
<u>OR</u> Name of 2 Personal	Sureties: 1)	, 2)	
For RENEWAL application	ons, give the expiration date	e of your current	commission:	
law?2. If the answer to ques3. Is there an unpaid ju Tennessee or any Tennessee cou4. Are you a soldier, see member of the United States Co of the United States?5. Have you ever been i6. Have you ever had a7. Have you ever been f of law?8. Is there any other res	convicted of offering or giving a lation 1 was YES, has your citizen adgment against you for money ranty or are you a defaulter to the aman, marine or airman in the rangress, or a person holding any or removed from office as a notary protarial commission revoked or found by a court of this state or a ason that you are legally disquality penalties or perjury that the	aship been restored? received in an official treasury? regular Army, Navy office of profit or tra public for official m suspended by this of any other state to ha	I capacity and due or Air Force of the ust under any forei isconduct? or any other state? ve engaged in the u	to the United States, to United States, a ign power, other state unauthorized practice y public?
acknowledged that he/she execu	before me, ted the within instrument for the fice this day of	e purposes therein c	I am personally	nature of Applicant
		M	y Commission expi	Notary Public
Receipt# Date Pd:	Amount Pd:	Type of Bo	nd: Ins/2 Po	ers Sureties

Requirements for applying to be a notary public:

- 1. Applicant must fill out application and return this application to the County Clerk's office.
- 2. Applicant will then be asked to sign the notary bond book. There is a \$10,000 notary bond required. This bond can either be made by an insurance company or two (2) Lawrence County property owners (no lien on property). If using property owners as sureties the bond will need to be made immediately after applicant signs the notary bond book. If applicant is using an insurance bond we will need the name of the bonding company at the time of application. The actual insurance bond will be required before the applicant can have the new commission certificate and seal (if applicable). It is the applicants responsibility to contact the insurance company or the two (2) property owners signing as sureties. The two (2) personal sureties will have to sign before the application can be presented to the County Commission for approval.
- 3. When application is returned to the County Clerk's office, the fees will have to be paid at that time. This amount will depend on whether the application is for a renewal or a new notary public. Total cost for notary seal and commission is \$40.45. Total cost for a commission only is \$18.50. If you still have a crimping seal or a black or yellow ink seal you will need to order a new seal. If you have a seal that says "notary at large" you will need to order a new seal. They now have to read "State of Tennessee Notary Public" effective August 1, 2024.
- 4. Beginning October 1, 2014, notaries public are required to maintain "a record of each of the notaries public's acts, attestations, protections, and other instruments of publication" regardless of whether the notary public receives a fee or compensation for his or her services. So long as the information kept in the notary public's record is available for public inspection and other conditions are met, such information may be maintained in any appropriate electronic medium.